Completely new to AoS-style games, have some questions

mrdelish

I started playing this yesterday and have been looking at character guides to get a general idea of how to play certain characters. What I don't understand, though, is some basic gameplay tenets:

1) How are you supposed to farm? I keep seeing people mention "learn how to farm," but there appears to be no guide on what to actually do. I kill the neutral creeps and enemy creeps like everybody else but my mineral value is nearly always less than everyone else.

2) Which character would be good for me, a not-especially-twitchy video gamer? I've used Kerrigan and Grunty to varying levels of success, and while I can time my spells pretty well I feel like I don't know how to contribute most to a hero skirmish with non-spell damage.

3) How does damage work? I get True Damage but I don't understand how all other damages work.

4) Various character guides say getting a couple <800 mineral items then going for 2000+ mineral items is the way to go, yet so many people get something like 3 duran bucklers or machettes. Is the idea to not get into fights with other heroes early unless they're easy pickings?

1. its all about "last hitting" this means doing the damage before the creep dies. try and learn how low the hp has to go so one attack kills the creep entirely and only ever attack when you think it will kill the creep completly. mastering this is hard but along as you are aware of the concept your game will improve.

2. kerrigan is good as she is tanky and can last hit and farm well. generally tally heroes like kerri and erekul are good for new players since they don't die too easily

3. true damage does the entire amount of the stated damage no matter what. spell damage is reduced by spell resist therefore it is less than what it says depending on the spell resist of the enemy. physical damage is the same as spell damage but is affected by armour.