What does rank mean?

Ducktape

Well i just started playing AoS and was wondering how the ranks worked. I'm currently at 1625 whilst my veteran friend is at 0. So is higher better or is lower better? And does it work using K/D/A or wins/loses?

Thanks in advanced,

-Imran

EDIT: Just to clarify this is public ranks, just in case there is another ranking system that is used.

Rank supposedly tell you "how good you are" (LOL), but no. Afaik, it's based on your W/L ratio. Maybe your veteran friend just leave everygame he don't wanna play, so he loose X rating/ranking because of this. Higher rating/ranking is "better"

Welcome to the forums although this is not a forum intro :)

From what I understood from a previous thread a while back, the way it works is that its an implemented system that Blizzard put in that AoS is using. Like what residente said, it mainly focuses on your W/L ratio for the most part and not necessarily your K/D ratio. Everyone has their own ratings and the game engine can "see" your ranking. It does what it does, tallying everyone's ratings (probably both individually and combined, not sure again, this is just what I understood how the mechanics work).